more things I will miss

The extended list:

  1. Catching a cab.  I love catching a cab in UB – you just hold out your hand, someone rolls up, you hop in, they take you where you want to go.  If you are lucky, they won’t rip you off.  In places where cabs are “official”, the element of the unknown has been removed.  Much less exciting.
  2. Driving in the countryside.  I love how you can just pick a direction and go.  To hell with roads.  It’s all offroading.  Also, the countryside is like one big campground.  So nice to have that kind of freedom!
  3. Korean food.  I mentioned this already.  But it bears repeating.  Not just the restaurants, but also the supermarkets.
  4. The countryside.  I love the Mongolian countryside.  I love the people.  I’m not the biggest fan of the food, but some dishes I’ve grown to appreciate (definitely a fan of noodle soup and mantuu).
  5. Meat.  I eat meat here.  I don’t eat meat back in the US, and I won’t when I return there.  I’ll miss “free-range” everything.
  6. Making things from scratch.  Cooking has been a challenge here, but one I appreciate.  When the pumpkin pie came out of the oven on Thanksgiving, I felt a real sense of accomplishment.  My friend made the crust from scratch, I ground up the spices with a rolling pin.  And of course, the pumpkin was roasted.  Delish.
1 Response to “more things I will miss”


  1. 1 Cherith January 15, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Dear sir/madame,

    Was searching for information regarding Mongolia, and came across your site. My sister and i are considering going there next summer, and we have been trying to find things out about it, with little luck. If you have any information regarding currency, food, laws…that would be great.

    It may sound odd, but we would like to possibly buy acouple horses and travel the country on horseback. Neither of us like the “tourist” thing everyone loves to do, and are aware that there is more than enough room in Mongolia to just ride/explore for a summer. Anyway, if you know anything at all that could help us out, that would be great.

    Thanks
    Cherith

    Ps..your site is super cool.


Leave a Reply

