inevitable

It had to happen sometime, though I was not expecting it so soon. I’ve come down with quite the nasty bug. I’m hoping it’s viral and self-limiting, so I don’t have to worry about antibiotics. In case, though, I’ve put in a request to my insurance company for the name of my doctor. Or, I’ll just “borrow” someone else’s antibiotics.
I suspect it’s the pollution, and the dust storm (coupled with a closeby fire) we had recently. But this one has been a doozy – my throat is swollen and sore from the base of my neck to my outer ear. The fever has come and gone, and now I’m chewing tylenol like candy. Swallowing hurts (fyi, juice, with its acidity, doesn’t make things better). I’ve stopped taking the decongestants, because the dryness isn’t helping my throat. This doesn’t bode well for surviving the winter!
On the upside, I managed to drag myself out of bed to visit the pharmacy for medication. It went surprisingly well, given my lack of Mongolian and Russian, and her lack of English. I’m learning charades quite well.

1 Response to “inevitable”


  1. 1 nagi April 17, 2009 at 7:15 am

    The best medicine might be to go to the nearest supermarket and buy some lemons. Squeeze the lemon really well and make a lemon drink. Drink a lot of it! It is the best boost of Vit C. Locals drink buck torn juice which has 1000% Vit C as well. you can find buck torn juice or just a bottle of concentrate in any food retail stores on UB. Hope it helps!
    N


Leave a Reply

