the little things

Some days, things seem really hard.  I know that my East Coast mentality needs to be dropped, but it’s hard not to get frustrated by the little things I take for granted.  Like… how much do things cost?  Sometimes, the store gives you a price.  And sometimes, it gives you 3 prices.  I have friends who tell me they still have no idea how to figure it out.

Today, I got frustrated when I realized that I don’t have an outlet compatible with my laptop plug.  I brought adapters, but not for the 3-prong type.  So I can charge my phone and camera, but not my laptop.  So, off to the internet cafe, I went.

There, things got a little better.  The staff speaks English, which helps with my other frustration – language barrier.  I need to get on those languages classes.

Then, there’s the lack of planning for things. People here don’t plan.  Me, with my color coded Google calendar is having a hard time getting used to that. On the other hand, it makes other things seem a bit easier – like randomly deciding to go to lunch.  Or maybe getting out of town.  Or perhaps, just skipping work and sitting in the internet cafe.

I run into a lot of people at Nayra Cafe, so it is fast becoming my favorite place (they also have mac and cheese in their store).   I met the Indian Ambassador here, at the same time I met the owner, who has spent a lot of time in Brazil.   Mongolians are a well-traveled people.  I also keep running into people I know, which then tends to lead to a random evening hanging out on a rooftop.

Today, I  taught my first yoga class.  It was tougher than expected, but fun.  Next week will be better.  It would help if I could just download some music, but so many sites block access outside the US.

I haven’t figured out if I can drink the tap water, so I’ve been boiling it just in case.  It tastes awful, which means I need to find some powdered drink mix.  Haven’t found it yet.

And then there was the washing machine fiasco.  How hard is it to use a washing machine, you ask?  Well, when there are about 600 buttons on it, I’d say very hard.  Also, 3 slots for soap (my mom tells me one is for bleach and one is for softener).   It took two tries to get my clothes clean.  Embarrassingly, there are English instructions on there.  They just don’t add up to the all the buttons.

But these are little things.  I hear about muggings and getting ripped off, and as the weather warms up, pickpockets and assault.  I’ve experienced none of that.  OSF is also helping me with my research (whenever I get to that, sometime after voiceovers, yoga, and rugby), which is not always the case of most people’s local partners.  And so far, the food has been great.  Life could be worse.

2 Responses to “the little things”


  1. 1 Frugal Trenches April 12, 2009 at 10:17 am

    It always takes a while for anything to feel normal and yet whenever I travel, I somehow forget that. So this was a good reminder for me.

    Can’t wait to follow more of your journey. Amazing you’ve already found somewhere to teach Yoga, but it doens’t surprise me ;0)

  2. 2 Dave April 24, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    DON’T DRINK THE WATER. I’m glad you’re boiling it. It would be better to order those 20 liter bottles. Boiling kills bacteria but doesn’t get rid of heavy metals or other nasty things!!!

    My washing machine is Korean. It has thousands of buttons. I pushed a big green one and it seemed to work.

    Maybe I should drag a Korean’s ass to my house to explain how it all works!


Leave a Reply

