Archive for March 15th, 2009

park city

The last time I was in Utah, we went south into the desert. This time, it’s a little too wet still, but more importantly, there are piles of snow in the mountains. So that means snowboarding.

Sadly, I didn’t bring my board, or boots, or snowpants, or even gloves. Plus, there is lingering work and other minor tasks I need to take care of. So my brother has gone riding, and I’m left exploring Park City. It’s an interesting town, as far as ski resorts go. Unlike Whistler, which is entirely created around the fact that Whistler and Blackcomb Mountains are good skiing, Park City and surrounding areas started as mining towns. You can still get that feel walking through town and around.

Main street is narrow and the buildings are old as well.

Of course, Park City is a major ski resort town now. Aside from Park City resort itself, there are two others within walking distance of my brother’s house. An hour’s drive away gets you to three more. In 2002, the Winter Olympic Games were held here, which Park City is quite proud of.

All that aside, it’s been cold and sunny here, which actually translates into kind of warm and sunny, when you are at 7K feet elevation.   Makes for some excellent pictures and a nice walk around town.